The Council

The Officers and Ordinary Members of Council are elected at the Annual General Meeting.

The President is elected for a two-year term (past presidents are listed here) and Ordinary Members each serve for three years. The Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer each serve for four years

The Officers Ordinary Members and Co-opted Members are as follows:

President 2016-2018 
Professor Rachel Mills, University of Southampton, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton website

Past President
Professor Tim Jickells, University of East Anglia. website

Honorary Secretary 2014-2017
Dr John Bacon, Centre for Environment Fisheries and Aquaculture Science, Lowestoft. website

Honorary Treasurer 2013-2016
Dr Sinhue Torres-Valdes, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton. website

Ordinary Members of Council

Local Networking Events, Meetings & Special Interest Groups 2014-2017
Dr Ruth Airs, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, Plymouth. website

Education and Outreach 2015-2018
Dr Louisa Watts biography

Early Career Network Coordinator 2015-2018
Dr Luisa Cristini, National Oceanography Centre, website

Editor, Challenger Wave 2010-2017
Dr John Allen, University of Portsmouth. website

Membership, Student Travel Awards 2014-2017
Dr Mattias Green, Bangor University. website

Industry Liaison and Technology 2010-2017
Mr Terry Sloane, Planet Ocean Ltd. biography

Communications 2012-2015
Dr Emma Cavan, National Oceanoghraphy Centre website

UK SCOR Representative 2015-2018
Prof Gideon Henderson, University of Oxford. website

UK SCOR Representative 2017-2020
Prof Peter Burkill, University of Plymouth. website

Data Protection and Management 2017-2020
Dr Rob Hall, University of East Anglia. website

Ex-officio and co-opted members of Council:

Chair, Ocean Challenge Editorial Board
Prof Grant Bigg, University of Sheffield. website

Editor, Ocean Challenge
Ms Angela Colling, Formerly Open University

Executive Secretary & Membership Services
Mrs Jenny Jones, National Oceanography Centre, Southampton

Dr Emma Cavan 

Latest News


The world’s foremost conference on marine electromagnetics incorporating an exhibition and poster session.

Read More

AMBIO VIII registration and abstract submission open!

The Scottish Association for Marine Science (SAMS) are pleased to invite you to Oban for the Advances in Marine Biogeochemistry (AMBIO) VIII Conference 6 - 8th Sept 2017. The conference will present state-of-the-art research and technology in UK marine biogeochemistry.

Read More

Vacancy: Regius Professorship of Ocean Sciences

The University of Southampton and National Oceanography Centre, Southampton, are on the search to fill one of the most prestigious roles in academia, a Regius Professorship.

Read More